November 16, 2011

TORONTO, ON – Team Ontario Director of Operations Barclay Branch along with Head Coach Troy Smith, Assistant coaches Roger Hunt and Wayne Clark announced the 22 man roster today for Ontario’s Under 17 Team that will compete at the upcoming 2012 World Hockey Challenge being held in Windsor Ontario from December 27, 2011 through January 4, 2012.

“It is always a challenge when you have to select a team from a group of athletes who are so committed to excellence within their sport. We know that there will always be disappointment for those players who are not selected at the end of the evaluation process. However, we as a staff believe that we have put together a group of athletes who will represent Ontario with pride and class both on and off the ice and are capable of winning the Gold medal at this year’s World Hockey Challenge stated Director of Operations Barclay Branch.”

“The quality and skill level of the players selected to represent Ontario at this year’s event indicates that the minor hockey system in Ontario is not only producing high performance athletes but also quality citizens as well said head coach Troy Smith.”

The team will depart for Windsor Ontario on December 27 where they will begin play in the World Hockey Challenge on December 29, 2011 thru January 4 2012.

The tournament features 10 teams, 5 regional teams and 5 International teams in 2 conferences. The 2 top teams from each conference will advance to the semi-finals while the remaining 3 teams from each group will crossover for placement games. Team Ontario will play in a conference with Germany, Sweden, Team Pacific, and Team West.

Last season in Winnipeg, 20 OHL players captured Ontario’s third gold medal in four years with a thrilling 5-3 win over the United States with Sean Monahan of the Ottawa 67’s scoring the game-winning goal.  Daniel Altshuller of the Oshawa Generals and Andreas Athanasiou of the London Knights were both named tournament All-Stars.

The Hockey Development Centre for Ontario (HDCO) facilitates the Men’s Under-17 hockey program on behalf of the 3 Ontario Branches of Hockey Canada.

Team Ontario World Under-17 Team:


Jordan DeKort (Lasalle Vipers/Windsor Spitfires)*

Spencer Martin (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)


Darnell Nurse (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Chris Bigras (Owen Sound Attack)

Jordan Subban (Belleville Bulls)

Aaron Ekblad (Barrie Colts)

Trevor Murphy (Peterborough Petes)

Alex Yuill (Barrie Colts)

Adam Bateman (Windsor Spitfires)


Brandon Robinson (Brampton Battalion)

Stephen Harper (Erie Otters)

Bo Horvat (London Knights)

Hunter Garlent (Guelph Storm)

Nicholas Baptiste (Sudbury Wolves)

Jordan Maletta (Windsor Spitfires)

Max Domi (London Knights)

Ryan Kujawinski (Sarnia Sting)

Brent Pedersen (Kitchener Rangers)

Cole Cassels (Oshawa Generals)

Nicholas Ritchie (Peterborough Petes)

Stephen Nosad (Peterborough Petes)

Mitchell Dempsey (Plymouth Whalers)


Ken Appleby (Kirkland Lake Blue Devils / Oshawa Generals)*

Jared Gilbert (Kitchener Rangers)

Mackenzie Lemmon (Belleville Bulls)

*players have committed to OHL club

Team Personnel:

Director of Operations – Barclay Branch (Belleville Bulls)

Head Coach – Troy Smith (Kitchener Rangers)

Assistant Coach – Roger Hunt (Oshawa Generals)

Assistant Coach – Wayne Clark (Peterborough Petes)

Head Trainer – Neil Hoch (Ottawa 67’s)

Equipment Manager – Matt Sands (Belleville Bulls)